Thursday, May 18, 2006

How to remember friend from foe on the school board

It's hard to keep track of who does what in local politics, and it's even harder for the average citizen to remember who is whom on the Montgomery County Board of Education.

Only two members - Valerie Ervin and Nancy Navarro - supported the kids on the Kendale issue. Curiously, they are the only school board members who supported the county Inspector General's investigation of alleged official wrongdoing in MCPS.

Navarro's term is up this year. Let's make sure she gets plenty of support for re-election!

But the rest - they're another matter. They marched in lockstep:

Gabe Romero (term ends this year)
Patricia O'Neill (term ends this year)
Steve "Abramoff" Abrams (running for Maryland comptroller)
Sharon "Cucumber" Cox (term ends in 2008)
Charles Haughey (term ends this year)

Collectively known as R.O.A.C.H.

Let's turn Kendale into a ROACH hotel this election season!