Saturday, November 05, 2005

List of County Council members taking money from illegal donor

A major developer gave most of its illegal campaign contributions to Montgomery County Council members and to County Executive Doug Duncan, according to the Washington Post.

Here is a list of the members who accepted campaign money from that company:

Steve Silverman (D-At Large);
Tom Perez, President (D-Silver Spring);
Howard A. Denis (R-Potomac-Bethesda - and remarkably useless in the Seven Locks battle);
Nancy Floreen (D-At Large);
Michael Knapp (D-Upcounty);
George L. Leventhal (D-At Large);
Michael L. Subin (D-At Large).

Not all the above necessarily accepted illegal contributions, and several, like Denis, received only token amounts.

Denis has this to say about the mini-scandal: "If they have gone over the limit, they will have to find some way to get under."

Denis was quiet about how he and his colleagues should find some way to avoid taking illegal campaign money.